At a glance… East Africa: Tanzania and Uganda!

You would like to venture into East Africa with your company, but you lack the required knowledge? Find information on the business environment and on funding and consulting opportunities for your way into the East African market in the publications "New Markets - New Opportunities” on Tanzania and Uganda*!

About the publication

The issues "New Markets - New Opportunities” on Tanzania and Uganda are joint publications by Germany Trade & Invest (GTAI), the Delegation Of German Industry and Commerce for Eastern Africa and the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, published in February 2022. In the following we have compiled important aspects from the publication.

Economic structure and prospects

The economic centre of Tanzania is the port city Daresalaam, where industry and various service sectors have settled. Agriculture forms the most important part of the economy, also because it creates by far the most jobs. Similar to Tanzania, agriculture is of particular importance in Uganda because it supplies the entire region with food. Industrial companies from various sectors such as the consumer goods industry and the agro-processing sector are located there.

These industries are particularly attractive for market entry in Tanzania and Uganda:

  • (Renewable) Energy
  • Mining industry
  • Agriculture and food processing
  • Construction industry and infrastructure
  • Water and waste water
  • Health

Investment climate

Tanzania is characterised by political stability. The rapidly growing demand for infrastructure and consumer goods ensures a need for investment. Furthermore, the country has large mineral reserves as well as gas deposits off the coast. Uganda is also increasingly being considered for investment due to market growth. In addition to a local sales presence, investments in agriculture, consumer goods production or in the building materials sector would be attractive for German companies. You can find out more about the economic prospects on the GTAI country page of Tanzania and Uganda.

You can find exciting business opportunities in Tanzania and Uganda through leverist.de

Business opportunities in East Africa

Your company is working in the field of agribusiness, green tech or the textile industry? Are you interested in Tanzania or Uganda as a market? GIZ experts are looking for companies that would like to trade in high-quality dried fruit, invest in GreenTech solutions or in sustainable textile consumption.

Network directly with the relevant contact persons.

Read more about Tanzania and Uganda as well as support offers for your company in the country guides “New Markets – New Opportunities” Tanzania and Uganda.

*The publications are only available in German.


leverist.de has launched a special call supporting civil society organisations in Germany and companies in Moldova. Find out more on the special pages.

More

Auf einen Blick – Ostafrika: Tansania und Uganda!

Sie möchten mit Ihrem Unternehmen den Schritt nach Ostafrika wagen, Ihnen fehlen aber die erforderlichen Informationen? Finden Sie in den Publikationen „Neue Märkte - Neue Chancen” zu Tansania und Uganda Informationen zum Wirtschaftsumfeld und zu Förder- und Beratungsmöglichkeiten für Ihren Weg in den ostafrikanischen Markt!

Zur Publikation

Die Ausgaben „Neue Märkte - Neue Chancen” zu Tansania und Uganda sind Gemeinschaftspublikationen von Germany Trade & Invest (GTAI), der Delegation der Deutschen Wirtschaft für Ostafrika (AHK) und der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, herausgegeben im Februar 2022. Im Folgenden haben wir wichtige Aspekte aus den Publikationen zusammengestellt.

Wirtschaftsstruktur und Perspektiven

Das Wirtschaftszentrum Tansanias ist die Hafenstadt Daressalam, in der sich insbesondere die Industrie und verschiedene Dienstleistungssparten angesiedelt haben. Das Rückgrat der Wirtschaft bildet die Landwirtschaft, auch weil sie die mit Abstand meisten Arbeitsplätze schafft. Ähnlich wie in Tansania hat die Landwirtschaft eine besondere Bedeutung in Uganda, da sie die gesamte Region mit Nahrungsmitteln versorgt. Industriebetriebe aus verschiedenen Bereichen, wie die Konsumgüterindustrie und der Bereich Agro-Processing, sind dort zudem niedergelassen.

Diese Branchen sind für einen Markteintritt in Tansania und Uganda besonders attraktiv:

  • (Erneuerbare) Energie
  • Bergbau
  • Agrarwirtschaft und Lebensmittelverarbeitung
  • Bau und Infrastruktur
  • Wasser und Abwasser
  • Gesundheit

Investitionsklima

Tansania überzeugt durch politische Stabilität. Die schnell wachsende Nachfrage nach Infrastruktur und Konsumgütern sorgt für Investitionsbedarf. Darüber hinaus verfügt das Land über große Mineralienreserven sowie Gasvorkommen vor der Küste. Auch Uganda kommt aufgrund des Marktwachstums zunehmend für Investitionen in Frage. Für deutsche Unternehmen wären neben einer lokalen Vertriebspräsenz auch Investitionen in den Bereichen der Landwirtschaft, Konsumgüterproduktion oder im Baustoffsektor attraktiv. Mehr zu den wirtschaftlichen Perspektiven finden Sie auf der GTAI-Länderseite von Tansania und Uganda.

Über leverist.de können Sie spannende Geschäftsmöglichkeiten in Tansania und Uganda finden

Beispiel für Geschäftsmöglichkeiten in Ostafrika

Ihr Unternehmen ist auf dem Gebiet der Agrarwirtschaft, des Green-Techs oder der Textilindustrie tätig? Sie sind an Tansania oder Uganda als Markt interessiert? Expert*innen der GIZ suchen nach Unternehmen, die mit hochwertigen Trockenfrüchten handeln, in GreenTech-Lösungen oder in nachhaltigen Textilkonsum investieren wollen.

Vernetzen Sie sich direkt mit den entsprechenden Ansprechpartner*innen.

Lesen Sie mehr zu Tansania und Uganda und Unterstützungsangeboten für Ihr Unternehmen in den Länderguides „Neue Märkte – Neue Chancen” Tansania und Uganda.

leverist.de hat eine Sondermaßnahme zur Unterstützung von Hilfsorganisationen in Deutschland und Unternehmen in Moldau aufgesetzt. Mehr Informationen auf den dafür eingerichteten Sonderseiten.

Mehr dazu